Author Topic: How do you learn  (Read 4576 times)

Richard

How do you learn
« on: December 12, 2015, 10:59:08 am »
Hey guys,

I'm really interested to know what your practice method is. What do you think is a good technique for learning a REALLY hard trick faster?

I am really interested in improving my practice methods so I can learn 3 low and other tricks a lot quicker.

I've been working on 3 low for quite a few years now, although I've never really pushed hard with the practice. Doing a bit here and there hasn't really helped me much - a big part of the problem has been motivation. Because it's such a hard skill and you don't get that much pay off, it can be hard to keep up the practice.

Here's my thoughts and a methods that I use with training and also teaching.

Any thoughts are welcome

Rich

------------------------------------

1) Film yourself and watch

It's amazing what you see when you watch yourself. Often you pick up technique problems, stance, style etc.

The more you film yourself, the more comfortable you'll be with a camera pointing at you.

2) Get feedback from others that have some knowledge.

It's important to get advice from others. You don't have to accept the advice and you can pick and choose what you will try. Sometimes it can take more than one person saying the same thing before you take the advice and start to make a change.

3) Focus on one RELEVANT technique correction at a time.

Often I hear people giving really technical advice to beginners which makes it harder for them to learn because they're thinking too much and not 'feeling' it. This is where I think it's important to judge what is a 'relevant' technique correction. e.g. When learning 2 low, it's important to focus on the timing of the diabolos before you even think about correction.

Also, if you focus on too many technique corrections at once, it's too much for your brain. Try to focus on one at a time, until it becomes a habit, and then move on to the next one.