Author Topic: Lady diaboloists  (Read 4692 times)

Pau

Lady diaboloists
« on: February 27, 2016, 01:10:09 pm »
Hello all. I am new to the world of diabolo. At first I had many questions and I found the answers to most of them on this forum. Thank you all for that.

There is still one thing that puzzles me. I hope you guys can help me on this one too.

What I noticed is that most diabolo players are male. Does anyone have an idea why that is? I am a girl and I like girly stuff and I also like to diabolo. Where are the other ladies? Are they less visible? Are there really so few diaboloing women out there? And why?

Arjan

Re: Lady diaboloists
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2016, 01:41:26 pm »
Welcome Pau!

Glad to hear you found your way around the forum and it helped you answer some questions already.

About your question, there really isn't a clear answer to why unfortunately. It is the way it is just because.
I find this rather odd myself, especially because throughout history diabolo was often considered an activity for girls/women or ladies as you refer to them. But in this day in age, there are far far more boys/guys/men doing diabolo.

There are a good amount of girls though, in this forum too.

Olive

« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2016, 11:49:36 am »
Hi there,

I've been pondering this for a while too. I think that there are two parts to it that make the absence seem a bit more profound.

1) Women tend to spin poi and hoop as a casual hobby as it is what's seen more and therefore more social, and those that are a little more serious about circus arts head toward balls or club passing. Boys are more likely to pick up a diabolo as a casual thing and keep it up as there are more guys that typically use diabolos, turning it into that social event.

2) Women are less likely to make videos, so are less "out there".

I've been on this forum for maybe 8/9 years now and still not got around to posting a video. One day.

Chloé F.