Author Topic: Best Diabolo? A beginner's perspective  (Read 3140 times)

Lt.Tom

Best Diabolo? A beginner's perspective
« on: September 11, 2015, 05:38:56 AM »
So what is the best diabolo? I’ve been reading this forum on and off for almost 4 years, and that question comes up a lot.  I’m still a beginner after 4 years, because I researched for half a year, finally bought my first diabolo, then after a week my life got crazy and it was forgotten. Months later I picked it up again, bought a second one, played with it for a week, had a job change and forgot them of several more months. This went on for almost four years, until now. I’ve got 5 of the most recommended 5 inch diabolos. I wanted to add my thoughts, for beginners, by a beginner.  These are all fixed axle diabolos, I’ve never tried a bearing axle. Here goes, in the order I got them;

Mr.Babache Finesse (G4) – My first diabolo; at the time most of the equipment guides were written, 275 grams made this a “light” diabolo. They still make kits to add weight to it. But it’s the heaviest one I own, and It’s  got a lot of it’s weight on the rims so it is very stable, and holds it’s spin well. Several different hub, and axles kits, and a light kit are available for it. It is on the softer side, so it “bounces” well. It will get dirty, but it won’t get scratched up. If you’re going to play over concrete a lot, that’s important. It’s also got a slightly higher tech look to it, because of the shape of the cups, and the lack of exposed acorn nuts on the washers.