Author Topic: Regular whip catches  (Read 8359 times)

stroevey

Regular whip catches
« on: February 18, 2006, 01:20:05 PM »
hey guys im sure u are all mad pros at diabolo, im just starting to learn how to whip catch. i was wondering if there is anything i need to kno before doing it and also what type of whip catch i should learn.
your help is appreciated, cheers :D
Diabolo, is art.
Art is beautiful
Beautiful is diabolo

Sean

• Administrator
Re: Regular whip catches
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2006, 01:53:49 PM »
Well, stroevey, I was about to tell you to go check the trick and video archive sticky, then I realized that this topic has never been discussed here (to my knowledge). This is probably because there isn't much to the basic whip!

All you have to do is spread the sticks a bit with a finger or two, aim for the axle and go for it. Sometimes I find it helpful when teaching people to have them hold the diabolo with their non-whipping hand in front of them and practice getting the string to land around it when going through the motion. If the string ends up with half a twist in it (backside of the string), then you twisted your hand a bit or the string itself twisted and caught the diabolo on the backside of the string. Work on bringing your hand straight down from above to make the string line up nicely behind it and not get twisted.

This trick definitely ranks up there among the easiest to the diaboloist and the most impressive tricks to the general public.

One note: I edited the subject of your thread... it's easier for people to use the forum as a resource in the future if we keep it organised and keep the subject headers corresponding to the content. "I'm new here" or something to that extent doesn't help much. :P

Have you read through our posting etiquette suggestions? It's nice to get everyone posting here on the same page.

Cheers!
Sean

Matt_

• Donator
Regular whip catches
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2006, 05:36:53 PM »