Author Topic: Single Bell Question  (Read 5334 times)

brokentone

Single Bell Question
« on: July 08, 2008, 07:06:16 AM »
So. . . basically, I'm really new to this. I recently visited China, and I was in a park where an old dude was doing insane stuff with a single bell yoyo. I took a few photos of the action because it was so cool. He invited me over (even though I speak no Chinese, and him no English), and invited me to play with it. He taught me how to keep it going and accelerate it. However, I have no idea how to start it. He wrapped the string around it three times before doing something which I forget.

I found a yoyo like his at the pearl market in Beijing for 30 Yuan, and purchased it, but I have no idea how to start it. HELP?!?

Thanks!
brokentone.

logoman04

Re: Single Bell Question
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2008, 07:44:43 AM »
for righties- roll it from right to left on the ground and then pickit up off the ground and start jerking your right hand up, and let your left hand go lax. that should put enough spin to stabalize it.

Check this link out.... it should help you out a lot.
http://diabolo.ca/forum/index.php?topic=2248.0

hope i helped you
The entire world will die in the time of one day the reason being...o_O 3D O_o!!

nev

• Donator
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2008, 09:47:37 AM »
for righties- roll it from right to left on the ground and then pickit up off the ground
No no no - that wont help at all for a single bell (one sided diabolo) - to start it put it on open string with the cup (or bell) towards you - then twist it 2 or 3 whole turns clockwise (as you look on it from above) - then just give it a little spin with your hand and accelerate as you normally would - the diabolo will untwist itself by turning anti-clockwise and should have enough speed to be stable when fully untwisted - from this point you will need to turn with the diabolo (or let it turn and twist the string & do occasional suns to untwist the string again).