Author Topic: Beginner Advice - Henry's, Babache or other?!  (Read 3320 times)

oldskooladdict

Beginner Advice - Henry's, Babache or other?!
« on: June 07, 2009, 08:00:12 PM »
Hi everyone, total newbie here...

I can juggle pretty well and for ages, my diabolo experience is limited to a budget thing my brother had from Argos which I played with when I was about 8, so aside from knowing what one looks like essentially no experience! My interest today was all kicked off because eBay sent me a voucher for 4 quid of 'outdoor toys' which has a juggling section, I was originally looking for more thuds but decided I have several sets so should set myself a new challenge - the diabolo.

Coming from a juggling background I was drawn to Babache and Henry's - I have balls from both and there's a clear difference between these and your average ball. So, on eBay I was looking at those...

Arlekino - V Cheap, however, it seems because it's tiny it would be a very bad choice to start with.  Pinocchio - Bit bigger, but I couldn't find much info about it.
Birdie - This looks well cool! - However, the page I looked at said it was not beginner suitable as it span fast so made tricks harder.
Millennium - This looked possibly beginner suitable...

Then I found this place :D

So, after reading some stuff I've found these ones I'm considering:

Henry's Beach Diabolo - £14
Babache Finesse - £23
Babache Millennium - £11
Yoho 'gift set' - £13

Now, firstly I know nothing about YoHo, and it looks a bit dodgy/not as decent as Babache/Henry's (but I am biased)...

That narrows it down to three, the auction page for the Finesse said it was intermediate/advanced where as the other two said beginner/intermediate.

Based on that I was gonna go for the Henry's Beach.....

So, is the Henry's Beach the best starter from those four? - (All prices include sticks and delivery etc)